Taiyaki with mango

Taiyaki is a popular Japanese snack shaped like a fish that’s traditionally filled with red beans. Shops often have a large window where you can see staff making the taiyaki- I have to admit I love watching that. You may have tried cakes similar to taiyaki that aren’t in the shape of the fish but has a similar taste. With the changing times, there are now numerous other fillings ranging from custard, chocolate, and even sweet potato! You might have even seen the craze with taiyaki ice-cream recently, which is soft serve ice-cream inside a taiyaki.

taiyaki-fish-ice-cream-cones-taiyakinyc-8
Taiyaki icecream @taiyakinyc

Here’s where I complain about the lack of drool-worthy desserts in Hong Kong whilst I scroll down my instagram feed feeling envious of all the people in NYC and Australia.

LUCKILY, I got the Kenwood SM650 sandwich maker for Christmas, which came with 5 removable plates including one that makes taiyaki! ( I guess I shouldn’t complain then), so I figured I’d try to make my own taiyaki… but without the creamy soft serve.

kenwood_sandwich_maker_sm650_800x600_1
Kenwood SM650 [credits: kenwoodworld.com]
I wasn’t gonna let that stop me. I’m making my own variation: taiyaki with cubes of mango inside.

IMG_8069.JPG

Being an utter beginner, I made a pancake batter for the cakes, then just diced up some mango to put inside. If you’re not bothered to make a pancake batter, go ahead and use pancake mix.

Just realised that I actually have no idea what a taiyaki batter consists of, and maybe it’s time for me to find out…

Hope you enjoy this recipe x !


Taiyaki with mango

  • Time: 30mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

A modern take on a taiyaki filled with diced mangos.

Ingredients

  • 200g plain flour
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 3 tbsp oil / melted butter
  • 1 medium mango, diced

Directions

  1. In a bowl, add in the plain flour and sugar and make a well in the middle. Crack in the egg and whisk till some of the flour has combined with the egg.
  2. Add in the oil and whisk till a very thick batter is formed. At this stage, there should still be a lot of flour that’s uncombined.
  3. Slowly pour in your milk, 1/4 cup at a time and whisk until the batter is smooth and no lumps can be seen. The batter should be thicker than a traditional pancake batter but not so thick that it sticks on a spoon as a dollop.
  4. Plug in the sandwich maker and lightly brush with some olive oil. Wait till the green light comes on, indicating that it’s hot enough.
  5. Scoop a spoonful of batter into the plate, only covering the bottom of the plate. Then, add in a few diced mango in the middle. Fill up the top with more batter and close the lid of the machine.
  6. After 1 minute, flip the taiyaki to allow the other side to brown. This should take 2 minutes. Check whether they are cooked by inserting a toothpick into the centre, which should come out clean.

Leave a Reply

