Hanjuku Kobo: Half-baked Cheesecake

For some reason, this shop never caught my eye when I was around the Tsim Sha Tsui area. Hanjuku Kobo (半熟工房) is a Japanese bakery with 2 locations in HK, originally famous for their half-baked cheese tarts that took HK over in a craze about 2 years ago. They have original, chocolate and matcha flavoured cheese tarts behind the displays of their shop, as well as a variety of other little cakes that looked delicious.

IMG_0070.jpg

Despite all this eye candy, I was here to pick up a box of 5 half baked cheesecakes that I had purchased online for a reduced price ($59) that was originally $79. To be honest, I probably wouldn’t have bought this for $79, as it was wayyyy too expensive for me, however seeing as there was a discount, I decided to try it out.

The shop itself was quite quiet when I walked in, so I didn’t have to wait at all. The shop assistant packed the two boxes into a paper bag along with 2 small icepacks (I didn’t know they would have to be refrigerated).

So anyways, onto the cake itself. The top is nicely browned and you get deceived into thinking it’s going to be warm and oozing with cheese but aha! You get the opposite, as it’s actually cold inside. Half of me wishes that the cake would be warm, much like the cheese tarts, although there is something nice about the cakes being cold as cream cheese is always nice when it’s cold.

IMG_0065.jpg
That deceivingly brown top

The cake is nice and fluffy, with a layer of cheesecake on top of that. I know I should stop comparing it to the cheese tart, but after all, they call it “half-baked” so I would associate these two together. The inside  is quite firm, although creamy, so it would be more like sponge cake layer at the bottom with a cheesecake layer on the top. The word “half-baked” made me have much higher expectations.

My advice would be to eat it 10 minutes after taking it out from the fridge, and NOT to microwave it (in an attempt to warm it up). If you eat it straight out of the fridge, the middle could be a bit icy, and if you microwave it, the middle layer of cheese curdles slightly, so the best is to just let it get to room temperature.

I’m actually eating one right now so the taste is still fresh on my tastebuds. Overall, I would rate this 7/10 as it’s not as exciting and delicious as it sounds (as well as the hefty price!), but it is a nice afternoon snack to have.

IMG_0068.jpg

Hanjuku Kobo 半熟工房
G/F. 6A Cameron Road, Tsim Sha Tsui
尖沙咀金馬倫道6A地下

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

