The Poké Co

After scrolling down my instagram feed and seeing poke bowls, the inner hippy in me knew that I had to try it. Luckily, I found 3 restaurants in Hong Kong, so I decided to give Poke Co. a try. The setting of the restaurant was quite nice, giving you teenage youthful feeling of eating Poke bowls trending on Instagram. The idea of poké bowls is that you get a bowl of rice with cubes of raw fish such as salmon or tuna that has been lightly dressed.

The restaurant is set out with 3 high tables, one of them facing the street. There is a big menu plastered at the top of the counter, which is easy to follow when constructing your own poké bowl. The idea is that you choose a base from a selection of rice, greens or zoodles. Then comes the protein, which includes salmon, tuna, shrimp, chicken, or tofu for vegetarians out there. Lastly is the dressing with 8 different sauces to choose from.

IMG_9188

Eager to try and customise my own bowl, I went for sushi rice, tofu (because I’m vegetarian and don’t really have a choice) and the Vietnamese sauce for my Traditional Poké Bowl ($98). Any add ons would cost an extra of $5 to $30. Frankly, it was a very bland bowl, and I know part of the reason for that was because of my bad choices for the bowl. The sauce provided a little tartness for the rice, but otherwise, it was just tofu and rice. The rice was also a bit undercooked, making it a little hard to chew.

IMG_9186

I’m glad to say that my other choice on the menu wasn’t as bad– maybe I just shouldn’t be trusted with creating dishes on my own. I tried the Berrylicious Acai Bowl ($68). Yup, I know it’s another one of those trendy smoothie bowl things on Instagram and I was quite partial to it, but it was delicious. The acai base could have been a little thicker in my opinion, but the combination of the fruits and the coconut flakes were perfect.

Overall, I’d say to pursue your inner hippy self and go try out these poké bowls especially if you’re a meat eater, and I can only imagine how nice it would be with some salmon. I’d say that the poké bowl wasn’t worth what it cost, but the acai bowl was very much worth it.

The Poké Co

Rialto Building, 2 Landale Street, Wan Chai
(+852) 3705 1782
Opening Hours: 10:00 – 21:00
http://www.thepokeco.asia

Taste ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Service ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Value ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Remember to follow me on instagram @theculinarycomet AND subscribe to my blog so you don’t miss a single post!

Tell me what you thought of this post!

Leave a Reply

