DONDONYA

I’m sure you’ve all seen that trendy video of a highly skilled Japanese chef whipping up this amazing dish called Omurice (watch it if you haven’t already) with the runny scrambled egg pouring all over the rice when the omelette is cut open in the middle. Well point is, I’ve been craving some good runny scrambled egg, which leads me to DONDONYA (丼丼屋).

DONDONYA has always been popular for their donburi, which is a Japanese style rice bowl, topped with different meats and hence their difference names. For example. katsu-don has a deep-fried pork cutlet; oyako-don (meaning parent and child) which could be chicken & egg or salmon & salmon roe. To prove their popularity, you will most likely find yourself queuing to wait for tables amongst other hungry diners during lunch and dinner hours. Luckily, I went at 1pm and there were still a few tables left.

IMG_0244

I ordered the Deep-fried Shrimp Egg Rice Bowl ($72). I didn’t eat the shrimp, but that’s not even the main character of the dish. I mean look at the egg just sitting on top of the rice! Here’s another photo for clarity.

IMG_0245

I love how there’s a little sauce from the runny scrambled eggs that makes the rice a little wetter but not completely drenched. Just the eggs itself gives the rice all the flavour it needs.

IMG_0243

I also ordered the Mini Salmon Oyako Rice Bowl ($52). Just the salmon roe itself is enough to give it the salty taste without adding too much soy sauce.

DONDONYA

Shop 371, 3/F, Plaza Hollywood, 3 Lung Poon Street, Diamond Hill (MTR exit C2)
Opening Hours: 11:30 – 22:30
(+852) 2715 7308
https://www.llaollaoweb.com/int

Taste ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Service ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐
Value ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Remember to follow me on instagram @theculinarycomet AND subscribe to my blog so you don’t miss a single post!

Tell me what you thought of this post!

 

Leave a comment